History of Hockey World Cup and Interesting Facts about Indian Hockey.

Let's begin with the History of hockey world cup!

  • The idea of the Hockey World Cup was proposed to International Hockey Federation (FIH) by Pakistan's Air Marshal Nur Khan and it got approved on October 26, 1969. It was adopted by the FIH Council in Brussels on April 12, 1970.
  • The first World Cup was allotted to Pakistan in 1971, but was shifted to the Real Polo Club in Barcelona, Spain, because of security issues in Lahore. 
  • The first three tournaments were held every two years. The 1978 Cup was the only tournament held three years from the previous tournament. Since 1982, the tournament has been held every four years, halfway between the Olympics' hockey competition. 
  • Pakistan is the most successful team of the Hockey World Cup, having won the tournament four times. The Netherlands have won three titles, and Germany has won two titles. India and Australia have each won the tournament once. 
  • India qualified for the twelfth Hockey World Cup as hosts of the tournament.

Some interesting Facts About Indian Hockey

  • The Indian Hockey Federation was formed at Gwalior in 1925. India joined the International Hockey Federation (FIH) in 1928, becoming the first non-European member of the FIH.
  •  The first Indian sports teams to ever set foot in Australia/New Zealand (1926), Europe (1928) and Japan/USA (1932) were the Indian hockey teams.
  •  The first Indian sports team to do around-the-world tour was the 1932 Indian hockey team. They played matches in Colombo, Malaya, Tokyo, Los Angeles, Omaha,Philadelphia, Amsterdam, Berlin, Prague and Budapest, before triumphantly returning to the shores of India.
  •  India also has to her credit, the largest victory margin in a pool match (India 24 - USA 1 in the 1932 Olympics), and the largest number of consecutive victories(30 wins on the trot from 1928 to 1960)
  • Sansarpur, a tiny village on the outskirts of Jalandhar, has the distinction of producing 9 Olympians - Gurmit Singh (1932), Udham Singh (1952, '56,'60, '64), Gurdev Singh (1956), Darshan Singh (1964), Jagjit Singh (1964,'68), Balbir Singh - Services, Balbir Singh - Punjab and Tarsem Singh (1968),and the World Cup winning captain Ajitpal Singh (1968, '72, '76).
  • The most common surname among Indian hockey players is Singh. As a foreign journalist wrote in his dispatch, "Singh initiated the move.After dodging past a defender, Singh passed the ball to Singh, who centered it to Singh and Singh scored the goal with a reverse flick."